Billings County ND

Billings County InformationBillings County

Billings CountyBillings County was created in 1879 during the westward expansion of the NPRR railroad and, as was common in those days, it was named after an executive of the company.

The county is just under 1,200 square miles in size and has a population of only 783, according to the last census. The number of inhabitants, which has fallen by more than 20% in the last decade, means that Billings County is the second least populated county in North Dakota.

The county originally contained parts of Slope and Golden Valley counties but since the major boundary changes, the highest number of inhabitants of the county was in the 1930s, when over 3,140 people lived here.

The county seat of Billings County is Medora, ND, which was given that position in 1886.

Billings County is surrounded by McKenzie County to the north, by Dunn County and Stark County to the east, by Slope County to the south and by Golden Valley County to the west.

Billings County MapBillings County Map

Billings County ND CommunitiesBillings County Communities

Fairfield | Medora

Billings County WeatherBillings County Weather

Five Day Forecast from the NOAA